Skip to content

Mission Mondays: Solo San Francisco – Part I

June 14, 2010

San Francisco has been calling my name for quite some time and I’m finally answering the call.

To Do List

Decide on the best time to go

I don’t want to just go to San Francisco. I want to be San Francisco. I want to live San Francisco. I want the city at its most vibrant, colorful self.

Calculate my travel budget

This is the hardest part. Not once have I ever stuck to a travel budget. Not once. One of these days I’m going to get the formula right.

Find the lowest non-stop airfare possible

Vacation hours come at a premium, and the last thing I want to do is spend any of them waiting around in an airport.

Find a hotel in the city

Experience has taught me that finding a cheap hotel outside of the city only means that you’ll have to pay for a cab to and from the city, thereby wasting more time than you’d care to and obliterating any savings you might have had over pricier accommodations at the city center.

Develop a flexible itinerary

I’m not as uptight as I used to be, so I don’t organize my trips hour by hour anymore. I do, however, like to know what’s available for me to see and do, and decide as my mood dictates. I once spent an entire day in the California State Railroad Museum because I was simply feelin’ it.

Arrange transportation

Car rental or no car rental? San Francisco is way too close to Wine Country and Yosemite for me not to want to take a day trip (or two). But will a car rental be worth it?

Mission: Solo San Francisco is a go!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2010 12:21 am

    I too struggle with the whole planning every minute or not conundrum.

    I’m heading to SF myself the end of next week. I somehow stumbled upon your blog on a google search of SF travel. I then ended up reading your whole blog history. Great stuff, I subscribed to your RSS and hope to hear more about your travels!

    • August 22, 2010 6:56 am

      @Carissa – It is a struggle isn’t it? I think it’s really all about finding balance between planning and spontaneity. One of these days I’m going to get it right.

      Hope you have a great time in SF! Write back and let me know how it goes. Going to go check out your blog now.

Leave a Reply

