Skip to content

Mission Mondays: Solo San Francisco – Part II

June 21, 2010

My mission (and yes, I have chosen to accept it) is to get to San Francisco by year’s end. If you’ve been following my blog for the past week, I posted my San Fran to do list here. First item: decide when to go.

I’ve consulted the oracles (in this case, Frommers.com on San Francisco) and decided on the blue pill: an early September voyage to the City by the Bay.

Why September?

A good bet is to visit in spring or, better yet, autumn. Every September, right about the time San Franciscans mourn being cheated (or fogged) out of another summer, something wonderful happens: The thermometer rises, the skies clear, and the locals call in sick to work and head for the beach. It’s what residents call ‘Indian summer.’ –from Frommers.com.

Even better, several locals have noted that the September-October timeframe is indeed one of the best times to travel to San Francisco with fewer crowds (down from the peak summer season) and the potential for warmer weather. USA Today Travel concurs. Another plus: the Labor Day holiday gives me 24 extra hours in the Golden City. With so much to see and do, I’m definitely going to need them.

Who am I to defy the oracles?

Next on my to-do list: come up with a budget.

Leave a Reply

