Skip to content

Mission Mondays: Solo San Francisco – Part V

July 12, 2010

The countdown is on. In seven glorious weeks, I leave for San Francisco and the excitement is beginning to build. I’m also beginning to feel a little overwhelmed. San Francisco is chock full of things to do and see, and the more research I do on the City by the Bay, the more I realize that 120 hours isn’t going to be nearly enough to do and see everything I want. How do I make the most of my time in this great city?

The first thing to do is to figure out what I want, in a larger sense. For the most part when I travel, my interests generally fall into one of five categories: history, culture, nature, food, and shopping. Will the best of the best attractions in San Francisco also appeal to my tastes? Many of the guidebooks and online guides to San Francisco often point the visitor to the same attractions: you’ve got Alcatraz, Fisherman’s Wharf and Pier 39, Golden Gate Park and the Golden Gate Bridge etc. Will these attractions really satisfy my yearning for a true taste of San Francisco? I don’t know, so I’ve decided to approach my interests analytically and do a little digging to find out.

First up? History. Everything I’ve read about San Francisco has told me that for a history buff, going to San Francisco without seeing Alcatraz just isn’t done. But what about other can’t miss attractions that are perhaps a little under the radar? Most of San Francisco simply didn’t survive the earthquake and subsequent citywide fires of 1906, so where do I even start?

Anybody got some suggestions?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

