Skip to content

Mission Mondays: Solo San Francisco – Part XII

August 30, 2010

Packin' up, headin' out.

I can’t imagine I’ve forgotten a thing.

For a long time now, San Francisco has simply been one of those cities I’ve always wanted to visit and during the past twelve weeks, almost every spare moment has been channeled into making this journey a reality. I know it’s not some far flung destination and it’s not a six-month round-the-world trip, but I’m feeling that same heady mélange of fear, excitement, impatience, curiosity, and wonder as if it were. There are so many questions in my head right now. Who will I meet? Will I get to the airport on time? What will I see? What memories will I make? Soon enough I’ll have the answers.

I’m in the middle of a packing frenzy and wondering what I need to take (you’d think I’d have this down by now–but I don’t). I’ve made a master list and hope to have everything put together so I can go through the weeding process. It all has to fit into a 22″ rollaboard, after all. This is where you learn what you really need and what’s really fluff. I’m glad that packing is the focus right now because I’m trying to ignore that ball of anxiety that’s pitted itself in my stomach. Each time I set out on a solo trip, I always have a minor case of nerves. Hoping that everything is going to go smoothly. Giddy with excitement. Managing my expectations. Visualizing what it’s going to be like to set foot in a new place for the first time. No matter how many times I travel, I never seem to lose that case of the nerves. I hope I never do. It’s the one thing that reminds me that I’m about to embark on an adventure that’s out of the ordinary. That I’m stepping outside of my comfort zone. That I’m getting a necessary infusion of the unfamiliar. That I’m going to receive a shot in the arm. I hope to return emboldened, enlightened, and enriched by the experience.

Thanks to those of you who have offered support and words of advice (special thanks to Ekua for enlightening me on how to dress for San Francisco nightlife)—you’ve all certainly helped to make me that much more excited and prepared for what I hope to be yet another amazing travel experience, one that I hope will leave a positive impression that will last for the rest of my life.

See you on the flipside with lots of good stories to tell.

***ETA: Although I won’t be generating new blog posts while I’m in San Francisco, I will be tweeting! You can follow my tweets @SingleOccuBlog or in the top right column of this screen.***

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

