Skip to content

San Francisco Afterglow

September 10, 2010

I’m faced with the challenge of recapping my first trip since beginning to blog about my journey as a solo traveler and—I’ll be honest—I’m not quite sure I know where to begin. I was in San Francisco for six days and five nights—there’s no way I can recap the whole thing in a single blog post. Should I just recount the highlights? Perhaps. Compile a list of the good, the bad, and the ugly? Maybe. The most honest way of me telling my story is to tell it–in detail, as it happened. And honesty is what I’m going for.

That said, I don’t want to rush the process. I’m still decompressing from the trip and wrapping my head around everything that happened and simply embracing the fact that I just accomplished a goal that I’ve had for at least the past year. All the planning and research, all the anxiety and anticipation came to fruition and culminated in a journey I will never forget. So I’ll spend a large part of this weekend framing and beginning the story of my solo journey in San Francisco. Stay tuned. Mission Mondays is where it all began, so it feels right that Mission Mondays should be where the story will continue.

Until then, I just want to give some recognition–a shout out if you will–to a few key players who made my trip to San Francisco such a success. They’re Single Occupancy’s Proven Performer Awards. In no particular order:

  • The San Francisco Municipal Transportation Agency, familiarly known as the Muni. Comprised of the city’s buses, streetcars, and cable cars, the Muni took me every where I wanted to go. For the most part, the routes ran frequently and stretched out across the city, giving me access to everything from the Golden Gate Bridge down to the Mission District and almost everywhere in between.
  • The Mosser Hotel, located on 4th Street and less than a block from Market Street, was my cozy home away from home for five nights. Ridiculously affordable and close to the action, but quiet and comfortable with friendly and helpful front desk staff, The Mosser was the ideal retreat after long days of sightseeing.
  • My Kata 123GO-20 backpack. I documented my search for a comfortable backpack here and I found it in my Kata. With a sling design and side access panel that gave me easy access to my stuff, I’ve returned from San Francisco with my back and neck intact.
  • My Lands End SunShower Rain Jacket is lightweight and divinely packable, remaining wrinkle-free even after being rolled and stuffed into my backpack. It kept me warm in cool Muir Woods, dry out to foggy Alcatraz, and stylish all around the city.
Stop back on Monday for the skinny on my solo trip to San Francisco. Until then.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2010 10:47 pm

    Yay! I was in SF myself the week before you. WAY too much fun to be had in that city.

    • September 15, 2010 12:23 am

      Yes, I know. I see from your blog you were able to get down to Baker Beach! So jealous–I missed out on dipping my toes into the Pacific. Guess I’ll have to go back!

Leave a Reply

