Skip to content

Mission Mondays: Solo Savannah – Part III

October 4, 2010

Just like that and there are seven weeks left before I head down to Savannah. And I’m no more informed about what I’m going to do when I get there than I was two weeks ago. As of right now, all I have is a round-trip Amtrak train ticket and a dinner reservation for Thanksgiving.

Before my last trip, you see, I spent a lot of time doing research, poring over numerous guidebooks, and scouring information on the Internet. When I arrived in San Francisco, I was extremely prepared but I also felt like I knew too much about a place I’d never been and somehow, that didn’t feel right. As I begin planning in earnest for my time in Savannah, I’m stepping back a bit and embracing a more hands-off approach.

Why? Because I want to embrace the spirit of discovery.

So this time there will be no guidebooks. No hours spent Googling “things to do in Savannah.” No posting on online forums asking for suggestions for restaurants. This time, I’ll get around based on information I receive interacting with the excellent Twitter feed by the Savannah Convention and Visitors Bureau, @VisitSavannah, the Savannah Visitor’s Guide I requested a couple of weeks ago and, most importantly, on word-of-mouth from the locals. I’ve done minimal searches on the Internet for information on Savannah, but I’ve also disabled the images on my browser to remain in the dark as much as possible about what the city and its attractions look like.

What little I do know so far is this:

  • I have a thing for cemeteries

    I have a thing for cemeteries. Pictured: Le Cimitiere Mont-Royal, Montreal, QC, Canada

    There are five–five!–pre-20th century cemeteries in Savannah, and those are just the ones managed by the city. Hopefully that means lots of really old headstones, covered in moss and grown over with lichen, shaded by stately oak trees draped in Spanish moss.

  • There will be ice and snow on the weekend I spend in Savannah. It’s not in the forecast, but just trust me on this one.
  • I can play BINGO for cupcakes at a place called the Back in the Day Bakery.
  • Vespas are available for rental, so if I didn’t feel like exploring Savannah on foot I could zip around on one of the motorized scooters.
  • Savannah is a heckuva lot less sleepy Southern city than I initially thought.

So basically, compared to San Francisco, I’m going in blind and that feels a little more natural to me and slightly less contrived. A little more dolce far niente, a little less plan-a-holic. And, as Martha Stewart would say, that’s a good thing.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2010 7:19 pm

    What a wonderful post! And there will be SNOW in Savannah that weekend – ice skating too… It is definitely not sleepy here – can’t wait for you to experience it!

  2. October 5, 2010 5:02 pm

    I can’t wait myself…I’m delirious with excitement!

Leave a Reply

