Skip to content

Mission Mondays: Solo Savannah – Part IV

October 11, 2010

I have a feeling Savannah is going to rock my world.

Before I began the planning process for this trip, I had the simple notion that Savannah would be a sedate Southern city, but I’m learning more and more that it isn’t.  It’s more like a proper Southern belle with a wild streak. And now that I know Savannah’s going to be so much more than I expected, the standby travel guide just won’t do.  Instead I’m simply following the Twitter feed of the Savannah Convention and Visitors Bureau. There’s something that feels just that much more dynamic and organic about receiving real-time recommendations about things to do, places to go, and people to see. So far, here are some intriguing items I’ve tagged in the @VisitSavannah feed during the past week:

@VisitSavannah tweetWhat’s this? Savannah Philharmonic? Yes, please! So I navigated my way to the Savannah College of Art and Design’s Box Office website to find that—oohhh—there will be a performance of The Nutcracker presented by Savannah Danse set to Tchaikovsky’s score performed by the Philharmonic. Even better? It’s the Nutcracker, done Savannah-style complete with local settings and vengeful river rats. Because that’s just how they roll. I love it. Can’t wait!

@VisitSavannah tweet Mmmmmmmm. There’s just something that seems so genteel and elegant about a tea room. Exactly the sort of thing I expect in Savannah. So when I made my way over to the Savannah Tea Room website, I was delighted to learn that they serve high tea complete with imported teas, finger sandwiches, and dessert. I almost feel I should procure a pair of lace gloves for the occasion. Pinky fingers UP!

tweetUh-huh. Comfortable shoes are an essential for anyone traveling to a walking city, as I’ve learned from my excursions to Montreal and San Francisco. A comfortable pair of walking shoes can make or break your trip—really. Check out the rest of Savannah Dan’s recommendations for a good time in Savannah.

tweetAs for Savannah nightlife: I’m terribly attracted to Sugar Daddy’s Wine Bar (with a name like that, how could I not be?). With live music almost every night to accompany your drinks, and food described by one reviewer as an “orgasm in your mouth” (connotations be damned!), it’s little wonder I’m now over-the-top-HOT for this Sugar Daddy.

tweetFeeding my old cemetery love: I’m now following Bonaventure Cemetery (@BonaventureCeme) on Twitter as well, giving me access to tour schedules and other special events. Sweet.

As of today, six tiny weeks stand between me and the Hostess City of the South. I’m still staying true to my promise of strictly limiting my exposure to images of Savannah because I want to be surprised. I want the jaw-dropping, ooooh-aaahing, stomach-fluttering, goosebump-raising moments that come with seeing a new place with your own eyes for the first time. It’s the ultimate blind date. So watch out, Savannah. I’m comin’ for ya!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. trachinotus permalink
    October 11, 2010 2:42 pm

    If you’re gonna wear the white lace gloves, shouldn’t you also wear a corset and hoop skirt/dress? I do declare!

    • October 12, 2010 7:11 am

      I’ll see if I can manage a hoop skirt but I’m not promising any corsets…. 😛

Leave a Reply

