Skip to content

Mission Mondays: Solo Savannah – Part V

October 18, 2010

Five weeks down, five weeks to go until I take a slow train down South to spend Thanksgiving in Savannah.

As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, I’m taking a much more hands-off and laid back approach to planning this trip. I’ve been using Twitter as my nexus of information about Savannah and I’m finding it really useful. When something interesting shows up in my feed, I simply “favorite” it and review my list of favorites later. Instant list of things to do, places to go, and people to see—tailored to me!

According to Travel + Leisure Magazine:

Twitter, the 140-characters-at-a-time Web phenomenon of the moment, turns out to be a powerful tool for travelers. It can take you deep into the collective mind of the Internet to find the latest—and often the hippest—information about hotels, restaurants, and airfare deals. And lots of travelers are discovering the site’s potential. – April 2009

Twitter

Twitter has become an invaluable resource for travelers.

Thinking about traveling to Savannah sometime soon? Have access to Twitter? Here’s a list of feeds you should be following:

@VisitSavannah – I know I’ve totally been pimping the Twitter feed of the Savannah Convention and Visitors’ Bureau but I swear they’re not paying me. Seriously–tweets all day long with tons of useful information and travel deals plus if you’ve got questions, they’re extremely responsive. What more could you ask for? @VisitSavannah was recently named as one of the top Twitter-friendly CVBs. True dat! Other CVBs (who shall remain nameless) could learn a thing or two about what a great CVB Twitter feed looks like.

@SavannahNow and @ConnectSavannah – I’ve found it really helpful to read the local newspapers online in the weeks prior to arriving in a new destination. As the Twitter feed for the Savannah Morning News, @SavannahNow helps me get a feel for the local issues and events while @ConnectSavannah is geared more toward arts and entertainment.

@Savannah_ESP – Savannah Eat Sleep Play has become another mega resource for information about places to eat, sleep, and play in Savannah. Every few hours, I receive a tweet about restaurants, lodging, or retail shops that I’ll simply favorite if it sounds interesting. While it’s not as well-followed as the other feeds I’ve mentioned so far in this list, it’s become a pretty good source for ideas.

@Paula_Deen – Hell yes, y’all. I’m following Paula Deen on Twitter. The hostess with the mostess of the Hostess City of the South. Who never met butter she couldn’t use. A woman after my own heart. Although she travels a lot these days, the feed shares her recipes and the occasional tidbit about Savannah.

Got any more suggestions for feeds to follow for Savannah? Post ’em in the comments. For another, more extensive list of Savannah folks to follow, check out WeFollow’s rundown.

[P.S. You can follow Single Occupancy on Twitter too! Check me out @SingleOccuBlog.]

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2010 5:23 pm

    Marsha, I have fallen smitten with your blog. I’m also a travel writer, and am excited to have a fellow adventurer to follow. I had never even considered Twitter as a source for travel information, how ingenious!

    PS: Congrats on being featured on Freshly Pressed!

  2. October 22, 2010 8:38 am

    If you visit Paula’s restaurant you’ll have to be sure to write all about it! All I can think of when I hear her name is the burger that has come to be titled “Paula Deen’s heart attack,” the burger with donuts for buns!

Leave a Reply

