Skip to content

Weekend Intelligence: October 23, 2010

October 23, 2010

It’s been a good week. Much to my surprise, my Thursday blog post (“The Birth of a Solo Traveler”) was featured on WordPress.com’s Freshly Pressed daily feature, giving the blog some really amazing exposure. The post received so many positive comments, from people who were solo travelers themselves and got “it” to people who were terrified to travel alone but felt inspired by my story. Very cool. But now that the week’s over, it’s time to relax, grab your morning (or afternoon) cup o’ joe, kick up your feet and review some of the best in travel this week.

  • “The smoothest place to sit is often over or near the wing. The bumpiest place to sit is in the back. A plane is like a seesaw. If you’re in the middle, you don’t move as much.” So says pilot Patrick Smith in the eye-opening Readers’ Digest feature “50 Secrets Your Pilot Won’t Tell You.” I now feel completely justified for being a little obsessive about choosing an over-wing seat when I fly.
  • Why not give Wanderfly a try?

    I’m loving the new travel site Wanderfly.com. You choose your budget, your approximate dates of travel, where you’re flying from, and what you’d like to do once you arrive and Wanderfly will generate a whole list of wonderful destination possibilities for you that you can book on the spot. Sweetness. And so far (fingers crossed that this doesn’t change), the default setting for the number of travelers in the search is…wait for it…one. Solo travelers rejoice! No more double occupancy travel deal bait and switch. Where have you been all my life? The site is in beta right now so here’s hoping it becomes a great resource for budget-conscious solo travelers with a sense of adventure.

  • Ever fantasize about showing up at the airport and purchasing the cheapest ticket on the next available flight no matter where it’s going without having to worry about getting a visa? Turns out British citizens have the fewest visa restrictions–they can travel to 166 countries for at least three days without needing to get one. Jealous? I am. Where does your country rank on the list?
  • I was green with envy earlier this summer when JetBlue announced the second coming of its All You Can Jet passes. There were some basic rules and restrictions, but the basic premise was this: fly anywhere JetBlue flies as many times as you want during the entire month of September for one low price. Seth Kugel, the New York Times’ Frugal Traveler, recently interviewed a few of the jetters and, believe it or not, they agreed the pass was well worth it. Although he suggests JetBlue may not offer the passes again next year, I’m still socking away some extra money and vacation days just in case. Because you never know. Maybe the passes helped JetBlue have its most profitable year ever? I’m just sayin’…
  • If you’re interested in traveling solo but you’re not quite sure where to go, why not check out this list courtesy of TravelChannel.com?

Last but not least:

  • As always, feel free to check out Single Occupancy’s Solo Travel Weekly newspaper: all solo travel, all the time.
11 Comments leave one →
  1. October 23, 2010 8:39 am

    Congratulations on being featured on the WordPress Feature page. I caught you there too, as I am a solo traveler too. I love the freedom to do what I choose, check out what I want to see and ask the questions I’d like to ask and find the answers I want to find. I travel to see how people live and sometimes that is not always appealing to others…which is no problem, but a reason well solo travel is the only travel for me….LOL

    • October 23, 2010 7:00 pm

      LOL! Thanks. I’m not gonna say I’ll never travel with anyone else again, but solo travel really does have its perks! 🙂

  2. October 23, 2010 1:38 pm

    Awesome tips! I’m definitely going to check out wanderfly!

    Yes, congrats once again on Freshly Pressed!

    • October 23, 2010 6:58 pm

      You’ll LOVE Wanderfly…they’re still working the bugs out but once it’s up and running, it will be awesome!

  3. October 23, 2010 5:56 pm

    Yep, “Freshly Pressed” brought me this way too and I’m glad it did. A very nice post today, by-the-by. I know where I’ll be sitting next time I fly. 😉

  4. October 24, 2010 10:03 pm

    Love your site! I’ve been traveling a few times on my own, but I must admit I don’t love it. But like you say, out of necessity I do it anyway! So I’m always looking for tips. Great round-ups and advice and journal entries here. I love it!

    • October 24, 2010 10:57 pm

      Wow, thanks Abby! That means a lot. I’m sorry that you don’t love solo travel but I’m impressed that you’re out there doing it anyway–way to grab life by the horns! 🙂

  5. October 26, 2010 9:21 am

    That article about 50 Pilot Secrets was SO interesting, although many times downright scary. I’ve read many articles about how regional pilots are worked to the bone and end up getting only a few hours of sleep in their cars and things like that.

    I especially liked the part about why it’s so freakin’ cold on airplanes!

    • October 26, 2010 9:36 am

      I know right? I always used to think pilots had such a glamorous job….WRONG!

Trackbacks

  1. Weekend Intelligence: October 23, 2010 | International Travel Experience

Leave a Reply

