Skip to content

Mission Monday: Solo Savannah – Part VI

October 25, 2010

So it’s like this y’all: in one short month yours truly will be trolling River Street and the rest of the Historic District, taking in the sights, smells, and sounds (not to mention the tastes—oh! the tastes!) of the great Southern city of Savannah. Time to get the lay of the land because if there’s one thing I know how to do really well, it’s how to get lost.

No lie.

I’m the girl who, within an hour of landing in San Francisco, got turned around in the single worst part of town while trying to find my hotel. Sheepishly dragging my rollaboard suitcase behind me. Looking every inch the tourist. Thank goodness for broad daylight and the good sense to retrace my steps.

Thankfully, Savannah was made for the directionally challenged. Behold The Grid.

Allow me to get my inner geek on for just a moment.

It’s been said that Savannah is worth visiting based on the pure genius and forethought of its street layout alone.

Savannah’s remarkable city plan is distinguished from those of previous colonial towns by its repeated pattern of connected neighborhoods, multiple squares, streets, and designed expansion into lands held by the city (the common). It is unique in the history of urban planning in a number of respects, not the least of which is that the squares allow for more open space in Savannah than in any city layout in history. — New Georgia Encyclopedia

Not a street out of place. Ordered. Symmetric. Balanced. And built for growth (and future visitors who have no conceivable sense of direction–I kid).  James Oglethorpe, I salute you.

What the map doesn’t show is that Savannah is also blessedly, completely flat, which adds to its appeal as an ideal walking city (although some hills would have provided the extra exertion I know I’m going to need after sampling some of the city’s finest delicacies!). And the Historic District—where I plan on spending most of my time– isn’t huge, but what it lacks in size it makes up for in interest and intrigue.

Even with the nation’s largest registered Urban Historic Landmark District, Savannah’s 22 green squares and 1,600+ historically and architecturally significant structures are all within a 2.5 square mile area. Wear your walking shoes and stroll the Historic District. – SavannahVisit.com

So that’s just what I’m going to do. Amble along those historic avenues. Ramble ‘round River Street. Saunter slowly through the squares.

And allow the essence of this seductive Southern city to soak into my soul.

It’s been said that Savannah is worth visiting based on the pure genius and forethought of its street layout alone.

It’s been said that Savannah is worth visiting based on the pure genius and forethought of its street layout alone.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2010 12:22 pm

    I love cities laid out in grids. I’m a bit directionally-challenged, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

