Skip to content

Destination Savannah: Finding Deals in the Hostess City of the South

November 8, 2010

Editor’s Note:

Dear Readers – Single Occupancy is evolving. One of my goals for this blog was to be a resource for people who aren’t familiar with solo travel to realize that it’s not as difficult as it might appear. To help streamline blog content, posts formerly titled “Mission Mondays” will now be known as “Destination” posts and the title will contain more information about post content to make finding inspiration and planning solo travel a little easier.

Over the years, I’ve figured out different ways to keep costs down when I travel. Book airfares early on Wednesday morning. Fly on a Tuesday, Wednesday or Saturday. Stay in hostels (or campsites if necessary). Opt out of renting a car and use mass transit instead. Check with the local tourism agency or chamber of commerce to see if there are sightseeing passes that I can purchase. Et cetera, et cetera, et cetera.

I thought I’d exhausted every cost-cutting measure in the book until a couple of weeks ago when a tweet flashed across my screen: Groupon is coming to Savannah.

Groupon recently launched in Savannah.

If you’re not familiar yet with Groupon, here’s a little more: through its website, Groupon harnesses the collective buying power of large groups of consumers who can buy coupons for deeply discounted goods and services. The site offers these “group coupons” across the United States as well as internationally, spawning a whole slew of copycat sites that promise to do one thing: save you money.

I’d been following the Groupon website for North Jersey (where I live) for a while, but the thought occurred to me: what about following Groupon in Savannah? Can it really save me money on things I want to see and do while I’m there? I decided to give it a try.

The first Groupon coupon didn’t attract my attention much: a facial at a local spa for $35.  Then there was one for ballroom dance lessons for $20 off the regular price. Not terribly interested in that one either. Discounts at Uncle Bubba’s Oyster House? Aw, shucks (pun intended)–too bad I’m allergic to shellfish. But one day last week I hit the jackpot—an architectural tour of Savannah for half its original price. As an architecture junkie, I was sold. A few days later, there was a $20 coupon for B&D Burgers for eight bucks. Why not?

With roughly three weeks left before I arrive in Savannah, I may yet come across some other enticing deals to keep costs low on my upcoming trip. As a virtual Groupon virgin, I have no idea what to expect but I’m hoping the discounts I’ve been afforded enrich my Savannah experience. Time will tell.

Now if only there were a coupon out there for deeply discounted accommodations, I’d be set. As it stands right now, I don’t have lodging for my trip yet, which I hope to remedy during the next week. If nothing solid materializes in the next week and a half, I may have to resort to couchsurfing. We’ll see what happens.

All I know is that I become more and more excited the more I learn about Savannah.

Associated Links:

  • Groupon.com – “Groupon negotiates huge discounts on popular local goods, services and cultural events. Then we offer the deals to thousands of subscribers in a free daily email. The deals are activated only when a minimum number of people agree to buy. So our subscribers get a great deal and the business gets a ton of new customers. Win-win.”
2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2010 6:34 am

    I love Groupon. They’re not in my home city yet, but as you say, it can sometimes be helpful in scoring deals for travel. I’ve picked up a couple for my upcoming Vegas trip. I haven’t found LivingSocial to be as useful yet, but I live in hope. 🙂

  2. November 8, 2010 7:27 am

    I’m turning into a Groupon/Living Social addict! What a great idea to try them at destination locations! I will definitely file this away for future use.

Leave a Reply

