Skip to content

Weekend Intelligence: December 4-5, 2011

December 4, 2010

Ah, yes—I’m back from my Thanksgiving jaunt to Savannah, Georgia and already dreaming about my next destination. Before my wanderlust whisks me away, however, my next stop is Fort Lauderdale, Florida to spend the holidays with my family. I’m looking forward to escaping our 40-degree weather here in New Jersey and spending some warm days on the Intracoastal Waterway.  Until then, here’s a roundup of travel stories that caught my eye this week:

  • Don’t Touch My Junk! – In a couple of weeks I’m going to have my first encounter with the new TSA screening procedures and I’m none too happy about it. Thanks to this recent article from the folks at Budget Travel (“Why is the TSA Questioning Me?”) I’ve got a heads up on how to reduce my odds of being singled out for the dreaded “enhanced” pat down.
  • It’s the end of another year and between holiday shopping and exhausted travel budgets, how do you satisfy that ever-burgeoning wanderlust? Thankfully, SmarterTravel.com has compiled a variety of escapes on the cheap in its “Top Five Bargain Destinations for Winter 2010/2011.”
  • No, Virginia, it’s not your grandmother’s hostel – Hostels have become a mainstay in the arsenal of many a backpacker, but they’re also growing in popularity among other travelers. However, the days of the hostel as pariah in the lodging world are quickly vanishing thanks to hostels that have taken services and amenities up a notch. Rooftop lounges? Yes, please!
  • ‘Tis the season for giving and receiving—If you’re looking for a gift for your favorite traveler, why not peruse New York Times’ Frugal Traveler Seth Kugel’s “Travel Gifts from $10 to $60”? My favorite item on his list? The Bheestie, a moisture-absorbing bag to save your tech gadgets after they’ve accidentally gone for a swim.
  • From the Single Occupancy Weekly – Blogger Gray Cargill of SoloFriendly.com felt like the resident village idiot during her recent trip to Paris. It’s a story of flubbed French phrases, culture confusion, and spilled wine which Gray handles with grace, humor, and a little self-effacement. Read “The Village Idiot in Paris,” this typically intrepid travel blogger’s misadventures in the City of Light.

Until next time: happy travels and happy holidays!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 4, 2010 9:31 am

    Thanks for including me in your roundup, Marsha, I’m honored. I’m looking forward to reading about your trip to Savannah!

  2. December 6, 2010 11:29 am

    Hey, really great blog post… I’ve enjoyed reading through your blog because of the great style and energy.

    I actually work for the CheapOair travel blog. If you’re interested, we would love to have you on as a guest blogger. Please send me an e-mail: gchristodoulou(at)cheapoair(dot)com, and I can give you more information. Looking forward to hearing from you.

  3. December 7, 2010 12:30 am

    nice resources — glad to have found your blog

Leave a Reply

